“Alrighty then.” Highlights from Trump’s “unhinged” press conference.

AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais

Jake Tapper of CNN commented that the press conference held by President Trump was “unhinged.” Melissa Francis on Fox News said, “Wow. Well, alrighty then, that was some press conference.”

For over an hour on February 16th, President Trump faced media questions on his own, without another world leader beside him.

Trump defended the rough start his administration has had; “To be honest,” he commented, “I inherited a mess. It’s a mess.” Trump also touted his accomplishments; “I don’t think there has ever been a president elected, who in this short period of time has done what we have done.”

Trump also reminisced about his election victory;”I got 306 electoral college votes. I wasn’t supposed to get 222. They said there is is no way to get 222, 230 is impossible, 270, which you need, that was laughable. We got 306 because people came out and voted like they’ve never seem before. So that’s the way it goes. I guess it was the biggest electoral college win since Ronald Reagan.”

Trump’s claim that his was the largest win since Reagan was challenged by a reporter at the press conference.

REPORTER: “You said today that you had the biggest electoral margin since Ronald Reagan, with 304 or 306 electoral votes. In fact President Obama got 365 electoral votes. ”

TRUMP: “Well I’m talking about Republican. Yeah.”

REPORTER: “George H. W. Bush (had) 426 when he won as president. So why should Americans trust you?”

TRUMP: “Well, no I was told, I was given that information. I don’t know. I was just given (it).”

REPORTER: “Mr. President, why should American’s trust you when you accuse the information they receive as being fake, when you are providing information (that is not accurate)?”

TRUMP: “Well I don’t know, I was given that information.”

As well during the press conference, Trump commented on the tone of reporting from CNN; “I watch CNN. It’s so much anger and hatred, and just the hatred.  I don’t watch it anymore.”

A CNN reporter reporter did try to respond back, but was cut off by Trump:

CNN REPORTER: “Just because the attack of fake news and attacking our network I just want to ask you sir, doesn’t that under…”

TRUMP: “I’m changing it from fake news though. Very fake news.”

Trump addressed his relationship with Vladimir Putin saying,  “Putin probably assumes that he can’t make a deal with me anymore because politically it would be unpopular for a politician to make a deal. I can’t believe I’m saying I’m a politician, but I guess I am now.”

Trump also explained why good relations with Russia is very important; “If Russia and the United States actually got together and got along, and don’t forget we are a very powerful nuclear country, and so are they . There’s no upside. We’re a very powerful nuclear country and so are they. I’ve been briefed and I can tell you one thing about a  briefing that we are allowed  to say, because anybody  who ever read the most basic book can say it.  Nuclear holocaust would be like no other.”

Trump also defended his credibility when dealing with Russia, stating, “Does anybody really think that Hillary Clinton would be tougher on Russia than Donald Trump? Does anybody in this room really  believe that?”

When CBS’s Major Garrett asked what response Trump would have to recent Russian provocations, Trump responded,  “I’m not going to tell you anything about what response I do. I don’t talk about military response. I don’t say I’m going into Mosul in four months. ‘We are going to attack Mosul in four months.’  Then three months later, ‘We are going to attack Mosul in one month.’ ‘Next week, we are going to attack Mosul.'”

Trump also got into a heated discussion about his urban agenda with long-time White House correspondent April Ryan:

APRIL RYAN: “When you say the inner cities, are you going to include the CBC Mr. President, in your conversation with your urban agenda and inner city agenda? As well as…”

TRUMP: “Am I going to include who?”

APRIL RYAN: “Are you going to include the Congressional Black Caucus and the Congressional Hispanic Caucus?”

TRUMP: “Well I would. I’ll tell you what, do you want to set up the meeting? Do you want to set up the meeting?”

APRIL RYAN: “No, no, no. I’m just a reporter”

TRUMP: “Are they friends of yours? Let’s go. Set up a meeting”

APRIL RYAN: “I know some of them, but I am sure they are watching right now.”

TRUMP: “Let’s go. Let’s set up a meeting. I would love to meet with the Black Caucus. I think it’s great.”

Watch the CNN video of the whole Presidential Press Conference here:

Watch the reaction to the press conference by Jake Tapper on CNN here:

 

2 thoughts on ““Alrighty then.” Highlights from Trump’s “unhinged” press conference.

Leave a Reply

